I Am Poem


I am in love with language and the beauty of words.
I wonder what my friends see in me.
I hear “Take Me Home, Country Roads.”
I see something with 漢字 on it.
I want to be a better teacher.

I am addicted to chocolate and books.

I pretend that I’m brave.
I feel inspired, but unable to sing.
I touch my warm coffee cup (half-empty).
I worry that I’ll never get past the barriers all around me.
I cry sometimes when Japan rejects me.
I am in love with language and the beauty of words.

I understand that I’m not alone.
I say がんばります!
I dream to finish the novels I love to write.
I try to make the people I love proud.
I hope my voice gets stronger than yesterday.
I am in love with language and the beauty of words.

Leave a Reply

